Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

MInt

I love peppermint tea.  Since I cut down on caffeine a few years ago it has become my drink of choice.  I recently planted up some mint on my balcony and have just made my own mint tea.  It was super easy and very satisfying to use my own mint…

To make mint tea, cut off a few sprigs from your mint plant.  Tie them together with cotton to make a bunch and then hang them upsidedown in a dry place for a couple of days to dry out.  Then pick off the leaves and scrunch them in your hand  until they are broken down into flakes – great fun, slightly messy and smells great.

Boil a pan of water and pop in a tablespoon of the mint flakes (per cup) and simmer gently for 10 minutes.  Add a couple of fresh mint leaves to the water and simmer for another 5 mins (scrunch them in your hand before adding to the water to help to release the flavour) .  Then strain the mixture into a cup so that there are no leaves in the cup and enjoy,  Really delicous and totally healthy too – boom!

