Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

Photography is the new love of my life. I've gone from not being interested at all to loving it in 4 months. I'm so proud of my pictures and get such joy in taking and sharing them. So today, my birthday, I'm adding photography to this blog, come along and enjoy the journey with me…

It all started when I bought a DLSR camera just before leaving for Chamonix in May. I really didn't know what I was doing but I knew I liked some out of focus blur in photographs and I didn't like the pale, faded looks in landscape photos that I'd got in photos of the past. So I bought the best camera I could afford without going too crazy – after all I wasn't even sure I'd like to take photos.

Since then I have not looked back. Firstly, I removed all the stock photos from this blog and replaced them with ones I'd taken. This is my first attempt at an iPad article photo…

Then I started to take the camera out with me in Chamonix. It's not hard to get a fantastic photo in Chamonix so I saw great results straight away. Here's a nice shot taken early in the trip of the Montenvers train station and Mer de Glace…

I like the reds of the train against the white snow and grey rock. I also like the fact I had to hike up to a vantage point along a snowy trail and wait uncomfortably for ages for the train to come. I learnt a valuable lesson – patience!

So if you'd like to follow me on my photography journey, watch out for more articles and come see my pictures at Flickr

