Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

My iPad 1 is being sold tonight on eBay and has been replaced with a new iPad. I’m not going to review the new iPad here, I’m sure there are plenty of sites doing that tonight. I want to talk about the experience I had buying it, unboxing it and finally getting my hands on it.

I got up this morning to go to the dentist this morning. Not a very nice way to start the day but I promised myself that if I finished there on time I’d pop up to the Apple store before work to see if they were open and if they had any iPads in stock. I wasn’t hopeful!

But low and behold the dentist was on time so I pedalled like crazy up to the Apple store. While locking up my bike I saw a man with about 6 Apple bags so I knew the store was open and there were selling iPads. Then I ran! I ran round to the store and saw the queue – not too bad, just 6 people waiting outside but I only had 15 minutes before I had to get to work so I was cutting it fine.

I took my place in the queue and 4 people were let in. Then one of the blue shirts asked the man in front of me which model he wanted so he could give him a token for the store. The man didn’t know – didn’t know what size, what colour or whether to have the 4G model or not. Boy, my heart was racing… Come on!!

Then it was my turn and typically I knew exactly what I wanted. I was ushered in store and a lovely lady blue shirt led me to my server. He greeted me and we went upstairs. Wow, it was busy up there. iPads were flying off the shelf. We chatted a bit while he took my credit card and sent a receipt to my iPhone. Then he bagged it up and put it in my rucksack for me. Smiling like a hippy I went back down stairs and every blue shirt I made eye contact with wished me a good day and told me to enjoy my new iPad.

What a great experience! I cycled to work very happy and then didn’t move from my desk all morning for fear that someone would take it. Eventually lunch time rolled round and I cycled like a maniac home. I then liberated the box from the bag, removed the cellophane and slowly slid the lid off. I had a moment seeing my new iPad for the first time – I swear it had a white blinding light behind it!

I only had about 10 minutes to play with it at lunchtime but during that time I managed to set it up and start browsing the web. I expected it to be good but it’s truly amazing. I’ll say no more 🙂

 

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS