Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

Ah yes, the buds are swelling on the trees, the daffodils are bursting through the ground and the birds are singing their hearts out. Spring is on it’s way…

I love this time of year – the hope and anticipation of a great summer. I’m not a winter person – the lack of light and the cold temperatures bring me down. I like sun, I like heat, I like living outside. My new running shoes are jiggling in their box at the thought of getting back to the mountains. I purposely have not used them for the gym although it would be easier than having to clean the mud off my current shoes before heading to the treadmill. My North Face Singletracks are meant for the trails and for the trails I will save them.

The treadmill has been a valuable tool this winter. I did intend to keep running outside all winter as I have all the gear and bought a head torch but the reality has not been so. Injury has kept Mr R off his bike which means it’s just too dodgy for me to run the gauntlet of druggies and weirdos that inhabit the park we live in. So I joined a local gym and am quite surprised that I’m loving it. Running in the dry and warmth is not to be sniffed at. Of course it doesn’t get anywhere near to the pleasure of running in the mountains but I’m not in the mountains at the moment so I’m not losing out. It will hopefully allow me to get to France with a good fitness base with which I can build the mountain running on.

So in less than 2 weeks it will be March and then spring officially begins. I love the build up to spring, it’s almost as good as spring itself (but not quite). We’re off to the Alps is May and my life will turn from an office based job to running, riding and eating outside. It gets tougher every year as I get older to make this transition – I’m more prone to injury as I get older but it’s still worth it 100 times over for views like this!

See you in spring!

 

