Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

What inspires us to get up in the morning and go for a walk, run or a ride to nowhere in particular? Obviously the blue skies and stunning scenery of Chamonix, France are enough to inspire anyone but what about when it’s raining or cold? What made me run around the boring streets of Towcester, UK in drizzle in November rather than sit on the sofa watching the telly & eating crisps?

inspiration |ɪnspɪˌreɪʃ(ə)n|

noun

The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, esp. to do something creative

These questions made me think about why I am who I am. Why don't I like having a Chinese takeaway on a Saturday night? Why don't I drink alcohol? I don't really know the answers but I have put together a top 10 list (in no particular order) of the reasons I get up in the morning and go for a hike, run or ride…

  1. I love to be outside
  2. I bizarrely like the pleasantly tired feeling after exercise
  3. I want to stay slim but still eat chocolate
  4. I like being fit
  5. I like achieving goals – training and racing
  6. It calms me down
  7. I get a chance to think without thinking about it
  8. It makes me happy
  9. It defines who I am
  10. I love it!

I've never really thought about why I am as active as I am before. Lots of people think I'm mad to go for a run in the rain or cold but I think it's the most natural thing in the world to do. I think it's mad for people to smoke or to eat too much that they make themselves fat. So I guess it's horses for courses but I do know that my muscles are pleasantly sore from this morning's ride and that tomorrow, I'll be pulling on my trainers again for a lovely run in the mountains. This is me and you can't stop me!

 

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS