Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

 

Running does lots of fabulous things for me including keeping me in shape and keeping me strong but it does tend to stiffen my legs & buttocks if I don’t stretch daily.  Before I started Pilates I used to suffer from a little sciatica – nothing serious but it could have developed into something much worse.  There is one stretch in particular that stopped it in it’s tracks..You’ll need somewhere comfy to lie down and a belt or scarf.  Lie on your back with your knees bent and feet on the floor.  Hook the belt or scarf around the back of your right thigh and hold with both hands.  Cross your left ankle over your right knee and gently raise your right leg as far as comfortable steadying it with the scarf.  You should feel a stretch in your left buttock.  Hold the stretch for a count of 15 and lower your right leg down for a count of 5 and repeat 5 times on each leg.

This is a lovely stretch for people without sciatica too as it loosens the hard to get to buttock muscles.  Enjoy daily!

Comments

2 Comments

  1. May 19, 2010

    tight… firm… buttocks? one for my woman, methinks!

  2. May 19, 2010

    Thank you! This sounds lovely.

Comments are closed.