Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

Eating a mix of pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, linseeds and sunflower seeds will give you a great balance of omega 3 and omega 6 essential fatty acids. Essential fatty acids can help reduce the risk of the following problems…

  • Cancer
  • Heart disease
  • Allergies
  • Arthritis
  • Eczema
  • Depression
  • Fatigue
  • Infections
  • PMT
  • Diabetes
  • High blood pressure

When we do not have enough essential fatty acids in our diet we can suffer from any of the following problems:

  • Dry skin, brittle hair and nails
  • Poor healing of wounds
  • Reduced concentration
  • Joint pain
  • Impaired vision and hearing
  • Liver abnormalities

Fish, nuts and seeds are good sources of essential fatty acids. Seeds are a great because by sprinkling a couple of dessert spoonfuls on cereal everyday means that you get a regular supply rather than just one or two portions a week. The fibre in the seeds help with constipation and the vitamins and minerals are great for overall health.

To make the fabulous seed mix, blend together;

  • 1 part pumpkin seeds
  • 1 part sunflower seeds
  • 1 part sesame seeds
  • 2 parts linseeds

Blending the seeds breaks open the shells allowing the nutrient out during digestion. Keep the blended seeds in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 2 weeks and enjoy improved brain health. I eat two dessert spoonfuls every morning added to my home-made muesli to keep my brain active, my bowels regular and my mood steady!

 

Comments

One Comment

  1. Sher Kent #
    April 28, 2010

    Hmm… I do eat alot of seeds but I have never crushed them… so now going to blitz them in the blender before adding to my porridge and museli. I would like lovely nails for my wedding in August… x

Comments are closed.