Info

A journal of running, healthy food, mountains, bikes and technology by Julia Revitt

I’m laid up for a week or two with a pulled adductor muscle which is stopping me from running.  Not being able to run is terrible news to me as it is so much a part of who I am.  This got me thinking about habits – running is a habit to me but why do most of the people I know prefer to take up bad habits rather than good…?

I know people who smoke, who  drink too much and who bite their nails but I don’t know anyone else who runs.  Most people I know make a choice to be unhealthy by their diet and lack of exercise but I just don’t get why.

While studying to be a nutritionist I learnt about the virtue of adding seeds into your diet.  Since that time I have added seeds daily and love the effect they have on my body.  This is what I do – I learn something new and add it into my life.  Since finding out that running was one of the best things you can do for your health I have become a regular runner.

I know that smoking is bad for me therefore I’m not interested in it – beside it not being healthy, it costs money and makes you smell bad – why on earth would I want to take that up as a habit?  I’m coming to the conclusion that most people like being unhealthy – it gives them something to talk about.  How many times have you heard about people boasting about how drunk they got on a Friday night and how hung over they were the next morning?  That sounds much more interesting than having an early night and going for a run the next morning!

Trouble is that I don’t find that interesting in the slightest – which is perhaps why I’m a bit of a loner.  I’d much prefer to build my health through adopting good habits than destroy it with bad habits.  Perhaps that’s what makes a healthy person?

Comments

2 Comments

  1. Valeriy #
    March 18, 2010

    I’ve been in similar situation, and I am in such situation right now. I cannot run because of problems with my back.
    You can choose another physical activity instead of running, and this will also help you.

    • March 18, 2010

      I’m planning to try riding my bike at the weekend as I don’t think that will hurt my adductors. Can’t wait ‘cos I feel like I’m climbing the walls!

Comments are closed.